YA Books–Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

I never read YA books which are written for the Young Adult crowd….Hmm, there is no designation of OA books, Old Adult, which would be the genre I should be reading…But I met Kim Baccelia on Facebook and Writers Chatroom.  She is into the YA book business as editor and writer of this exciting segment of publishing.  I am sure you have heard the buzz about Twilight which was originally a YA book and is now a big money-making movie.  I have not read it yet, but plan to very soon although I never was much interested in werewolves, para-normal, fantasies, etc. 

However Kim kept writing on Facebook entries how much she was enjoying reading Shiver.  She never really gave away the story, but her enthusiasm made me check it out of our library only to find out it was a were wolf story…not a horror story, but a love story between a were wolf boy and a high school age girl.  I thought I would read a few pages, then turn it back in.  Not true. Once I began reading, the premise held me and the writer painted fabulous word pictures.  I was caught up in this odd romance. 

I plan to read more YA books and probably write a YA novel soon.  Can’t wait to get started.  Oh no, there will be no werewolves in it.  But it will be fun and interesting.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dawn Witzke aka The Lazy Writer on September 23, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    I love it! Old Adult…LOL

    Reply

  2. I enjoy this site, it is worth me coming back

    Reply

Leave a Reply

