NaNoWriMo–No

I am probably committing a sacrilege by saying no to NaNoWriMo or National Novel Writing Month. During November every year, writers get whipped into a frenzy to write a 50000 word novel in one month. The best thing is that people actually do it! Yes, they may be copying the Gettysburg address in it or writing gibberish, but the word count is the goal. No editing or revising as you go. Don’t even re-read what you wrote. Just keep going. It is a very freeing way to write.

I participated in the project for the last two years. It was thrilling to see the book come together. It was fun to keep track of word count and watch it grow. I loved it. I also enjoyed the camaraderie of the writers, the pep talks from Chris, the founder of the program, and spending way too much time on forums and emails to fellow writers.

But, this year I am laying out of the craziness. Instead I have vowed to spend as much time revising one of the novels I wrote during NaNo two years ago. And let me tell you that will be no small task. I confess there is a lot of gibberish to get to the word count. And I never even made it to 50000!! So I have to flesh out the characters and locations and cut a lot of bunk out of it. I will prune sentences, replace blah verbs with action verbs, and write sparkling descriptions. Hey, I guess I’d better get busy.

Good luck to all of you who are participating. I’ll be in the trenches with ya’ next year!!

Leave a Reply

