A little girl was diligently pounding away on her grandfather’s word processor. She told him she was
    writing a story. “What’s it about?” he asked. “I don’t know,” she replied. “I can’t read.”

This joke is oh so true of me and my writing some days.  Oh, yes I can read after I have pounded out the story, but it doesn’t always make sense!  I can start a story and it will take off willy-nilly in another direction.  The beginning has nothing to do with the end or the end of a scene.  I forge madly on oblivious of the story I want to tell, only filling up the screen with words.

Hold on here.  Isn’t that okay to just write with abandon?  A whole practice of writing has grown up around this after the establishment of NaNo….a challenge for writers to put down 50,000 words in the one month of November.  They don’t care what the words are or if they make sense or are spelled correctly or if there is punctuation or if there are run-on sentences… The word count is the thing!

To my thinking, this complete freedom of writing is okay, at the time.  It is when December rolls around and I actually read all the mumbo jumbo I have written and try to cull out a story from the mess.  Now that is difficult and sometimes overwhelming.  But, with perseverance, I re-work and workagain (is that redundant?) the story.  In fact the 2007 Nano effort is now being revised for the final time and ready for my writing group to read it and give me feedback.  Oh yes, then another revision, then I may be brave enough to send it off to a few publishers and cross my fingers, turn around three times, sprinkle pixie dust, and wish on a star that someone will like this quirky mystery. 

Have I ever mentioned that I have never written a mystery??  That makes this Nano project even more challenging–trying out new genres and new voices.

Whether you write with your story outline or whether you write by the seat of your pants, a “pantser”, just do it.  It is amazing.  Write on!

Leave a Reply

